Blood Moon

Produktinformationen

Schulfach Englisch
Maße 20,0 x 13,1 cm
Seiten 416
Verlag Walker Books
ISBN 978-1-4063-9344-6
Autor Lucy Cuthew

Beschreibung

PERIODS, SEX AND ONLINE SHAMING. AN EXTRAORDINARY VERSE NOVEL FROM A BOLD NEW VOICE IN FICTION, PERFECT FOR FANS OF TURNING RED, SEX EDUCATION AND SARAH CROSSAN.

>> NOMINATED FOR THE 2021 CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL


>> SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2021 AMAZING BOOK AWARDS

>> Featured on the Reading Agency's #WonderWomenBooklist

"Written with humour and understanding, this is the book young people need." SARA PASCOE

During Frankie's first sexual experience with lovely Benjamin, she gets her period. It's only blood, they agree. No shame.

Then a graphic meme goes viral, turning their fun, intimate afternoon into something mortifying and damaging. And Frankie begins to wonder: is she disgusting?

As the online shaming takes on a horrifying life of its own, her universe implodes. But can laughter, bravery and the fiercest of friends help Frankie find her way out of the darkness?


PRAISE FOR BLOOD MOON:

"Written with humour and understanding, this is the book young people need." SARA PASCOE

"Moving, compelling and bold, it filled me with such hope." LOUISE O'NEILL

"With every verse of her debut, Cuthew shouts down the shame, chips away at the period taboo, and firmly establishes herself as a bold and vital new voice in feminist literature." SAMANTHA SHANNON

"A bloody brilliant book!" GABBY EDLIN, CEO and Founder of Bloody Good Period

"Blood Moon is a tour de force of empathetic, passionate writing that refuses to pull any punches." WATERSTONES

"A powerful, fiercely feminist novel that normalizes menstruation and confronts destructive cyberculture." KIRKUS, Starred review

"A must-read novel of empowerment." BOOKLIST, Starred review

"Captures the joy of a crush, the despair of a lost friend, and the humiliation of being "that girl" on the internet." SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, Starred review

"Blood Moon canters along at a furious pace, evoking the escalating torment of online abuse." FINANCIAL TIMES

"A powerful novel in verse about feminism, menstruation, and bullying that really captures what teen life is like today." BOOKRIOT

"Brilliant and heart-wrenching." HANA TOOKE, author of The Unadoptables

"I devoured this amazing book. Absolutely genius." KATE WESTON, author of Diary of a Confused Feminist

"Frankie's journey will break your heart, while making you want to dismantle society as we know it." YASMIN RAHMAN, author of All The Things We Never Said

"A page-turning exposure of online bullying that will incite tears, fury and empowered conversations." AMY BEASHEL, author of The Sky is Mine

"Beautiful, eloquent, relevant." WIBKE BRUEGGEMANN, author of Love is for Los